Home

Breakfast:
Today’s breakfast was crazy! I looked up a recipe online, and found an awesome one on PaleOMG. Sweet potato breakfast cakes! I was able to get my usual spinach and eggs but in a totally different way. I was surprised that it worked perfectly, even though I didn’t have a few ingredients that the recipe called for (like cranberries and onions). Trying a new recipe is seriously the most nerve-wrecking but exciting thing ever.

20131207-175341.jpg

Snack:
Handful of goji berries, an apple with almond butter, dried apricots, and a couple of dates.

Lunch/Dinner:
I ended up eating a really late breakfast so I had two solid meals today, instead of the usual three. There was a lot a left over chicken from last night’s dinner, but I really didn’t want to eat the same thing again so I switched it up a little. I breaded the chicken in some almond flour (first time using almond flour!) and pan fried it in ghee. I threw it onto some spinach and added avocado, tomato, and a
simple lemon/olive oil dressing. It is amazing how easy it is to make a delicious, filling salad.

20131207-235622.jpg
I used up all the kale I bought from the co-op and made roasted garlic kale chips for the first time! I massaged the kale with a little bit of melted ghee, seasoned it with garlic powder, sea salt, and pepper, then threw it in the oven (at 350 degrees) for 15 minutes. I ate so much! I never knew I could eat so much kale.

20131208-000532.jpg

Dessert:
Coconut cinnamon poached pears. Pears are one of my favorite snacks, and definitely one of the best fruits to cook for dessert! I like to slice it up and cook in coconut oil and cinnamon for 5 to 10 minutes on each side. The best is when the pear is already super ripe and juicy!

20131208-000507.jpg

End of Day 6:
First off, I can’t believe it’s already day 6! I’m so stoked to write an end of the week report tomorrow.

I woke up today wanting bread SO BAD. I must have been dreaming about it or something because I literally woke up saying, “I want bread”. I started thinking about Disneyland, and their famous clam chowder bread bowls. I started drooling over the idea of their fried French toast ham sandwiches!! I don’t even know why these two dishes came to mind, but it was the strongest craving I’ve had in a while. Eating a new, exciting breakfast that had a good amount of carbs (from the sweet potatoes) and protein (from the eggs) really helped me get over my crazy bread thoughts. I’m hoping getting over cravings will be that easy every time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

